Love was His meaning

Love was His meaningIt is Good Friday, the day our Lord Jesus gave up His life for us so we might live> By His Passion, Death and Resurrection, He has conquered for us sin and death. God loved the world so much that He sent us His only begotten Son, our Lord Jesus Christ, so that all who believe in Him will not perish but have eternal life.

I can never tire of recalling that the Son of God died for me, a vile sinner. This morning I spent time to recall His sacrifice of love. I read and meditated on His immense love, His words in Holy Scriptures, His revelations – and I chose to pray the Stations of the Cross with meditations from Julian of Norwich (c.1342-1416). I have always found it uplifting to read what she has left us. Today, again I recall with deep gratitude what our Lord has done for me, for us all.

To quote Julian of Norwich – “WOULD YOU LEARN OUR LORD’S MEANING IN THIS THING? LEARN IT WELL: LOVE WAS HIS MEANING. WHO SHOWED IT TO YOU? LOVE. WHAT DID HE SHOW YOU? ONLY LOVE. AND FOR WHAT REASON DID HE SHOW YOU? FOR LOVE. HOLD ON TO THIS, AND YOU WILL LEARN MORE OF THE SAME. BUT YOU WILL NEVER, WITHOUT END, LEARN OF IT ANY OTHER MEANING.”

Yes, our Lord loves us. There can be no doubt. May we find in our hearts a response and may we have the grace to persevere to the very end, doing what He has commanded us to do: Love one another as I have loved you.

To one and all, a joyful Easter!

