Musing over Divine Mercy

I have just watched Mel Gibson’s extraordinary rendition of the Passion of the Christ. Tear stains remain on my face. My heart is just so full of the love of my Saviour. 

Some nights ago, I had completed the book by Catherine Anne Emmerich. It was her book that had provided much inspiration for the movie that I have just mentioned. A priest I know said that he would not like to watch the movie. Why? Simply because the scourging at the pillar took a full seven minutes or so. Yes, it is true. It makes one so very uneasy. It did that to me again just now and I  know that it is only because I know that each time I choose not to love and sin, that is what I do to the Lord. I am the one who holds the instrument of torture to draw blood from the One who first loved me, and died for me. 

One can never spend too much time reflecting on what our Lord has done. Lent truly is a good time to pay extra attention.  I am to never stop pondering on the goodness of our Lord.

Yes, I remember . . .March 1993 and the preparation for consecration to the Divine Mercy. We have so many reasons to rejoice each day.  The late John Paul II will be canonised on Mercy Sunday, the first day of May this year. I recall praying at his tomb in 2008 when I was blessed to spend several days in Rome. It was he who had raised up another saint – St Faustina – by canonising her and more than a thousand others.

St Faustina’s diary was a source of my constant meditation in the early years of my conversion. I gleaned so many lessons from her diary that I would recommend those who have not read it to do so. There is a wealth of resources, and this reminds me that we are beginning the Novena to the Divine Mercy this very day. How can I thank the Lord for all that He continues to do for us all?

The call to holiness remains strong. Recently too, our present Pope Benedict XVI said that holiness was as easy as one, two, three. What did he mean? We are all called to be holy. Without holiness, no one can see God. Still, we cannot make ourselves holy. God alone can. So, it is easy as one, two, three because we serve a God of might, of power, of compassion.

“How can we journey on the path of holiness, how can we respond to this call? Can I do so with my own strength?” he asked. “The answer is clear: A holy life is not primarily the fruit of our own effort, of our actions, because it is God, the thrice Holy, who makes us saints, and the action of the Holy Spirit who encourages us from within; it is the life itself of the Risen Christ, which has been communicated to us and which transforms us.” (Words of Pope Benedict from Zenit 14 April 2011)

God our Father sent us His Son. Jesus did not come to die for nothing. He came that we might live life to the full. He is the Way, the Truth, the Life, the Ressurection. When we follow Him and listen to Him, we will desire to be holy…and do we not know that all of us are called to holiness? Indeed.

Through  Julian of Norwich, we are exhorted to “pray wholeheartedly”. St Paul tells us the same “Pray unceasingly”. Let’s do so!

May our Lord, through His mercy, grant us the grace to seek holiness of life. May Mary, our Mother and all the saints pray for us!

A glorious Easter to one and all!

