Love is. . .

As a schoolgirl I remembered very well the movie ‘Love Story’, and one of the slogans that was linked to this movie of a couple deeply in love was this quotation: Love means never having to say you are sorry. Well, what do you think? Do you agree? Does it make sense? Is that what we are taught as Catholic Christians?

What does it mean when I say ‘I’m sorry”? That would throw a little more light on the quotation above. If I were to look at it another way, I would say that it tells one to love so deeply that one would not even hurt the one you loved, and if you never hurt your loved one, then you would not need to say ‘I’m sorry”. Does this make sense?

What actually brought about this thought was a you tube recommendation I had received. It came some time during Lent but I did not watch it. Then it came again, this time from another person, and I decided to give it a try. It turned out to be a meaningful 24 minutes of listening to Blessed Mother Teresa of Calcutta speak on a variety of topics close to her heart. One of the topics was on forgiveness. She mentioned that if one  were to really forgive, one would also strive to forget. But, so often, while we claim to have forgiven someone, we still find it necessary to talk about past  incidents (and persons). I thought about it, and pondered if that was not true of me. I had to laugh and admit that there were things that I still relish in, and all the while, I thought I was just sharing  lessons and experience. So, I guess I need to check the  intention of my sharing. Who am I glorifying? Is it the good Lord who tells me to love my enemies and to pray for those who persecute me, to love one another as He has loved me, and that what I do to another, I really am doing to Him? If not, then it must be the father of lies, the devil, that I am supporting. . .the devil does not know how to love. Love is what will kill him and send him scurrying back to hell fire.

Love means never having to say you are sorry. . . you love so well. . . you never hurt anyone. I can only think of one Person who is capable of true love and that is Love Himself, our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ. May God be praised now and forever!

 

