“I will not forget you!”

Yes, I am thinking of Isaiah’s well-loved verse on the love of God for each of us.

“Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you!”

How beautiful and how reassuring is the love of God. I was on my way home in a bus. It was a long journey and so I had the chance to observe the people who came up at a particularly busy bus stop. A young girl of about four came and sat next to me. Her mother advised her to sit on her own lap as she was afraid that the little girl might fall should the bus jerk or stop suddenly. The little girl at first refused to budge but when her mother persuaded her again, she quickly went to sit on her mother’s lap. The lady had with her many other bags including food and her own hand bag and some other stuff. Her hands were full but she did not want her daughter to sit by herself and run the risk of being hurt. The love of a mother is evidently present in this case!

Several kilometres later, the lady had to alight from the bus. By this time, the little girl had gone to sleep in her mother’s arms. Now the lady had to carry not only her child but also all her other belongings. She could have woken the child up, as I have seen others do that on other occasions, but she did not. Then I thought to myself, “How much love this lady has for her child!” Mothers make so many sacrifices for their children. I  know my own mother did.

Then Isaiah’s verse came to me and I promptly thanked our Lord for His infinite, unfathomable love. If our mothers could love us so much, how much more is the unfailing love of our God! Praise Him!

“Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you!”

