The Real Presence

Today  we remember in a special way St Faustina whose diary  ‘Divine Mercy In My Soul’ is one of my favourite books. I have read it more than once and always manage to find new insights. It is almost like a one to one to session with our Lord who speaks to me through St Faustina. Then there are moments when it seems as if St Faustina herself sits with me to share her spiritual journey. Thank you, Lord, for the gift of this saint to me. On this day I remember her love for you with, may I say, almost ‘holy envy’. Who loves You most of all? Lord, my small heart can only love you so much and not more. Enlarge it so I may love You more and more each day. Such are my frequent sentiments. I desire to love You more and more, more and more…..

Thank you, St Faustina, for the diary you have left us. It  has given us more insight into the loving nature of our God who is truly full of compassion, slow to anger and rich in mercy.

At Mass this morning, after receiving Holy Communion, I went back to my pew to have my conversation with my Lord. The thought came to me that here I was, having received Jesus, truly present. I had received His precious Body and Blood. In her diary,  our Lord had said to St Faustina

(1447) ‘Oh, how painful it is to Me that  souls so  seldom unite themselves to Me in Holy Communion. I wait for souls, and they are indifferent towards Me. I love them tenderly and sincerely, and they distrust Me. I want to lavish My graces on them, and they do not want to accept them. They treat Me as a dead object, whereas My Heart is full of love and mercy.’

What touched me deeply when I read the diary of St Faustina years ago, and which I still remember each time I receive Holy Communion, like this morning, is the section where she shared what she saw. This was what came specifically to my mind and so it was with greater fervour, as much as I could possibly muster, that I thanked our good Lord.

(1407) When I was receiving Holy Communion today, I noticed in the cup a Living Host, which the priest gave to me. When I returned to  my place I asked the Lord, “Why was one Host alive, since You are equally alive under each of the species?” The Lord answered me, That is so. I am the same under each of the species, but not every one receives Me with the same living faith as you do, My daughter, and therefore I cannot act in their souls as I do in yours.’

May this serve as a constant reminder as so many of us are daily communicants. For myself, I usually like to sit  in the front pews. Friends ask me why and I always say that I desire to have more time to pray and to commune with our Lord after receiving Him in Holy Communion. In our Catechetical sessions, we are reminded that the Lord speaks first in His Word and then comes to us in the Eucharist. To be able to participate in the Holy sacrifice of the Eucharist is truly a privilege. May God be praised!

The news to look forward to when it is finally accomplished will be for Polish St. Faustina Kowalska (1905-1938) to join Spanish Carmelite Teresa of Avila, Italian Dominican Catherine of Siena, and French Carmelite Thérèse of Lisieux, the only three women recognized as doctors of the Church. To quote our Holy Father Benedict XVI: “Dearly beloved, reinforce your trust in the Lord through common reflection and prayer so that you will take effectively to the world the joyful message that ‘mercy is the source of hope”

Lord, may your will be done!

