The things of God

“Some people look at the wonderful and beautiful things of this world and say to themselves,’I must have these things.’ Others admire the splendour, wonder, and beauty of the things of this world and wonder, ‘How much greater the things of God must be.’ The latter is a small group and you should strive to be numbered among them.”

WONDER. A 6-letter word. Wonder like a child in awe of the things around you. A world to discover. A world explored stage by stage through the senses, and this discovery can go on for a long, long time.

Yet, I have to say that all things pale in the sight of the One who alone can captivate our hearts. When one has tasted the love of the  Lord of heaven and earth, the God who created the seen and the unseen….nothing can compare with the Treasure of the One and Only God of the universe. Jesus – the Man for others, the Man who came to set us free from what holds us bondage, and the things of this world can make us prisoners in many ways. Addictions, afflictions…the inability to let our hearts be set free by Truth.

“Some people look at the wonderful and beautiful things of this world and say to themselves,’I must have these things.’ Others admire the splendour, wonder, and beauty of the things of this world and wonder, ‘How much greater the things of God must be.’ The latter is a small group and you should strive to be numbered among them.”

Has not our Lord told us that the road is narrow and few go on that road. Small in number…do we wish to be counted? I do! I have in some ways tasted of the goodness of God and I yearn to know him more. That is eternal life – to  know God, the One who alone can give meaning to one’s existence on earth. If I should ever lose my God, I lose everything. In the same way, having found him, he is all that I need and all that I ever want. May we strive to be numbered among those who, endowed with wisdom, seek the God who made us in his image and likeness.

