Friday after Ash Wednesday

Yes, my mind is racing towards the next day. I am not ahead of my time, but my thoughts are. I am reminded of what Christ my Saviour has done for me.

“Each Friday at 3 p.m. spend one minute thinking about the suffering involved in being crucified.”

Just one minute at three o’clock each Friday for the 33 years of our Lord’s life on earth. He could have done it another way but he chose the best way, and while on earth, we may never understand why his suffering had to  be so deep, we can at least try to ask for the grace to love him more. Unfortunately, weak creatures that we are, we do not put ourselves to do that often enough. Perhaps when we can begin to seek to understand a little more through our meditation, our prayer and our spiritual reading, God may give us the grace to love him more dearly and to love our neighbours as ourselves.

At the end of it all, the mystery of suffering may still  be hidden, and that is the point. Our faith calls us to trust in God, to believe in his love and to know that he came not only to take our sins away but to give us a new life.

To the thief who died with him on Good Friday, Jesus did not turn to him and say “You committed the crime so you pay the price.” No, Jesus offered him eternal life. The thief  said, ‘Lord, remember me when you come into your kingdom.’ Jesus’ response was: ‘Today you will be with me in paradise.”

“Each Friday at 3 p.m. spend one minute thinking about the suffering involved in being crucified.”

It is not too much to ask, is it?

