The Entry into Jerusalem by Giotto

‘Rejoice greatly, Daughter of Zion! Shout, Daughter of Jerusalem! See, your king comes to you, righteous and having salvation, lowly and riding on a donkey, on a colt the foal of a donkey.’ Zechariah 9:9

Meditating on this picture, I am made aware of my role in the event of the painting. I cannot be a bystander. I need to take part and move on in the journey of faith. It is a pilgrimage not to be taken lightly. Again and again I will have to pause to take stock of the conditions of the journey and to see how best I am to move on, and in the right direction too.

Jesus rides on a donkey, resolutely facing Jerusalem, determined to fulfil the will of the Father. There is no turning back. I am challenged to do likewise, especially when the going gets tough. It is so human to always want to be in the good books of people and to be popular with them, but this is not going to be so. Do I stand up for my belief in Christ and all that he teaches me?

I see Jesus on the donkey. He goes ahead and he knows that this is the way that the Father has willed for him. I appreciate the fact that Jesus lays down his life for me. Onward into Jerusalem, to die as a man would for his friends and Jesus has called me his friend.

Jesus, allow me to be the donkey you ride on so I never forget who you are and who I am. You came to serve, not to be served. You came among us, a man like us except sin. The journey of faith is not an easy one. There will be so many challenges and unless I am following you closely and focussed on the final end, I may get distracted. The crowd sways with the wind and when it is favourable for them to do so, they shout and demand that you be crucified. Their emotions take a turn and they try to save their own skin. Am I not guilty of this too? Have I never denied you? Lord, have mercy! Foolish people are we. We cannot save ourselves. Only you, the Saviour of the world, can save us, and you have done so. Praise you, Lord!

 

