Smile!

The following is a sharing on communication of a different kind. Lately some thoughts have come to my mind, and I am considering giving up my FB account. There are always reasons I could come up with whenever I want to justify an action. For now, though, it is enough to let the account remain frozen for a time. When I cease to  be interested in updating or checking it out, I can then safely delete it. I wonder how many of my so called ‘friends’ will realise that I am not there when this happens.

Back to the idea of communication. . .of a different kind.

The world is really a village.  It is not only a global village but also a digitally connected one.  Within minutes one can know everything that happens in another part of the world. But communication is more than just spreading any news. For us, as a family of God, it would be more Christ like to be bearers of the Good News. The Good News is that we are Easter people and Alleluia is our song.

How do Easter people usually communicate with others and with the world at large? For most of us, we might think of the usual ways of making connection through face to face conversations, phone calls, text messages, emails or other social media. Our communication can be written, spoken or unspoken. Silence speaks volumes and at times this might be the best option.

We use language to communicate, to express ourselves, to get our ideas across, and to connect with the person to whom we are speaking. All such acts of communication can flow relatively effortlessly, and so the more we reach out to build bridges, the better it will be for our community. For a start, let us give each other a warm smile when we meet. Our smiles will create another and another. . . Let us be the ones with the warm smiles, the hearty handshakes, the kind words. Our Lord did say that we are to welcome strangers, and certainly he is always right.  Happy communicating!

 

