Fidelity and commitment

We had for our session today the topic of Marriage. . . yes, the Sacrament of Matrimony. Then at the homily, Fr preached wonderfully on the need to be faithful to one’s commitment; in particular, the vows made. Later in the evening, a few of us shared on our views of long term commitment. It was a rich sharing – to hear of the fidelity of a couple who lived fully till death parted them, and to learn that our young people are fully aware of the need to turn to God for the grace to be faithful, first of all to Him and then to the people and even to the tasks entrusted to us. As I listened, I was reminded of the time when, not long after my conversion to the Catholic Church, I felt like giving up. There were many challenges and I was tempted to throw in my towel and say ‘I have had enough!’

Indeed, I did speak to a priest in the Sacrament of Reconciliation. What did I get? The Word of God to meditate on. Ready? I shared with my friends this evening: Luke Chapter 9 verses 57 to the end of the chapter, verse 62.

This happened almost 18 years ago, but I cannot forget God’s call to discipleship.

“NO ONE, HAVING PUT HIS HAND TO THE PLOW AND LOOKING BACK, IS FIT FOR THE KINGDOM OF GOD.”

It seemed appropriate this evening to bring this matter up for I have committed my life into the hands of our Lord and just as He will be faithful to seeing me through my pilgrimage on earth, He expects me to be faithful too. As Blessed Teresa of Calcutta has put it so  beautifully –  God has not called us to be successful but to be FAITHFUL.

May we be faithful to the end . . . and may our journey on this earthly pilgrimage be done with the body of Christ, committed to the Lord and also to one another.  Thank God His grace is sufficient for us. On our own, we will never be able to make it. But in Him who strengthens us, we can do all things and that includes, being faithful to our calling as disciples of the Lord. Amen.

