End of Christmastide

Today we celebrated the Feast of the Baptism of the Lord. It brought to mind several thoughts including my late mother’s baptism. Being a non Catholic myself at that time, I did not realise that the priest who had helped my mother to receive the initial sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist had really taken care to select a good time. Since it was twenty years ago, I have no idea whether it was the feast of Ephiphany or the Baptism of the Lord. No matter what, it is the right time. Praise God!

So I look back and I think of that year, twenty years ago, when I myself received the Sacrament of Baptism. That was the turning point of my life. It has to be so for, washed by the waters of baptism, the person is cleansed and given a new lease of life. I wish this so much for the other members of my family who are still hesitating, still caught up in the lures of the world, and I certainly wish this for all non-believers in the world. In God’s time may the grace be given each one to share the joy of baptism and a new life in Christ. Praise God!

