More reflections on the Stations

Ask and you will receive. Yes, I asked and the priest gave me his reflections to share with you. Here they are: the fifth and the fourteenth. I hope to be able to write all the fourteen stations one day, with the grace of God.

5th Station – Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his cross

As a priest, I visit the sick and the dying, and I find this to be one of the most humbling experiences. It is always amazing to see how each person meets his or her final moments in so many different ways. How is it that some are ready to go and meet the Lord? Why do some hang on to life here on earth? Yet, that should not surprise us. It would be a reflection of how a person lives his or her faith life.

Yes, for me, it is really humbling to visit the sick and administer the Sacraments of Anointing of the sick, and Holy Communion. I admit my own helplessness. What can I do for a dying person? What words can I use to tell a dying person that he or she has not much time left? The news can be good or bad, depending on the person.

No medicine can restore your health. Be prepared to meet the Lord. Total silence. An awkward silence. A deafening silence. Some nod in agreement. Others turn away and keep mum. I am there, helpless as a man, humbled as a priest. But God is always in charge.

I remember a time when I spoke to a fervent Catholic who was dying. I said, “I know of no medication for you now. The only medicine is the medicine of eternal life – the Eucharist- that I am going to administer to you. ” The dying lady was joyful and serene. After receiving Jesus in the Sacred Host, the person died with a smile on her face. A happy smile. A smile of joy. She has gone home to her eternal reward.

As Simon of Cyrene helped Jesus to carry the cross, we too can do our part. I have my duties as a priest. You have your duties as homemakers, professionals, fathers and mothers, workers in the Lord’s vineyard.

Let us spend a moment of silence to thank God for giving us the grace to serve him. And let us also be mindful of the fact that it is our Lord we serve when we reach out to another person. Whatever services we may render, it is to the Lord. So, we ponder and ask ourselves: Do I do everything with all my heart, as working for the Lord, and not for people? Let us ask God for the grace.

