Look at Him

P1120464r P1120476r P1120501r P1120502r P1120739rP1120713rI’m not asking you now that you think about Him or that you draw out a lot of concepts or make long and subtle reflections with your intellect.  I’m not asking you to do anything more than look at Him. 

Yes, it was for me a retreat with a difference. Of course, it is the goodness of our Lord for it is He who is the real Retreat Director.  He blessed me with a time for silent contemplation, and I often sought the help of our Lady to show me how she  pondered in her heart. Praise God for the time of silence, stillness, surrender and obedience to the leading of the Holy Spirit of God.

Be still and know that I am God – Psalm 46

It was a time of stillness. To wait in stillness and to wait in silence and peace. Like a child in her mother’s arms, so I tried to rest in the arms of the Good Shepherd. No fear. No panic. No anxiety.  It was a great reminder for me and it was reassuring to know that in His time, all will be well.

It was a time of surrender to the way God was leading me in my retreat. So often there was this prayer – Suspice – in my heart.

Take Lord, and receive all my liberty, my memory, my understanding, and my entire will, all that I have and possess. You have given all to me. To You, O Lord, I return it. All is yours, dispose of it wholly according to your will. Give me your love and your grace, for this is sufficient for me.

Yes, St Ignatius had prayed to be placed near our Lady’s Son, Jesus. She did that and so we have, in short, the Society of Jesus. Those wonderful Jesuits! Our dear Lady placed me within the Sacred Heart of Jesus . . .  Praise God! Praise our Mother Mary! Whatever it is, let my life bear good fruit that will last. This then will be the real testimony of my recent vacation with the Lord! Praise Him!

