Dan Shutte

Photo0370

I the Lord of sea and sky, I have heard my people cry, all who dwell in dark and sin, my hand will save.  . . Here I am Lord is it I Lord? I have heard you calling in the night. I will go Lord if you lead me. I will hold your people in my heart.

The faint figure in the photo  taken from a great distance shows the well known song writer and musician Daniel Shutte. He had come all the way to share his music. How often have we all sung the hymns so loved by us.

City of God is another one. I love his music because he does not compose blindly. He uses scripture and he writes lyrics that are so meaningful. One might say that this can only be the result of a relationship with God.

I love also Holy Darkness. Two years ago, with several friends we offered this hymn at our thanksgiving mass at Seven Fountains. Later, I shared it with Jesuit Father Paul Pollock, much to his delight. Praise God!

If I am not mistaken, he has had some years with the Jesuits. He now uses his past training to good use. That is why he too is able to write not only music and compose meaningful hymns but also spiritual books. He holds the sacred within and shares it without- that is, the Christian community.

I am glad to have been at St Mary’s to hear not only the singing of Dan Shutte but also the other Jesuits and Franciscan friar Derrick. Praise God!

