Ash Wednesday 2015

Ash Wednesday this year coincides with the Eve of the Chinese New Year,  so I had to decide what I needed to do for today regarding fasting and abstinence. Catholics in the region could postpone their fasting and abstinence for Ash Wed to another day of their choice. This was to enable those whose family members might not be Catholics to celebrate the reunion dinner together.  On my part, I  joined  the universal church to fast and to abstain. Lent has begun.

Mercy – What I ask from you daily

And I know that it has to be mine too to give

To the poor, the oppressed, the hungry

The rich and the miserable, the weak and the lonely

All kinds of people, all mankind, in fact

For to each I have to give so as to receive

What I withhold from each will be withheld from me

That is why I have to show mercy in order to receive mercy

To show kindness so as to receive kindness

To be generous so as to be given plenty as well

Tit for tat and butter for fat

Is it so, dear Lord?

Basically, it is nothing complicated

It is simply to love you above all

And then to love others as I love myself

If I cannot love those whom I can see

How can I claim to love God whom I cannot see? 

How true, dear Lord

Grant me the grace I need for these forty days

Thank you, Lord. Praise you, Lord!

 

