St Anthony of Padua, Doctor of the Church

 

The lilies are real and they are truly beautiful, costing only five, ten or fifteen dollars.

We had a procession to the church for Mass in the evening at 6p.m. after we had spent time praying to the great Miracle Worker, St Anthony of Padua.

Upon the recommendation of a friend, I was told to watch a video. This friend of mine said that it would change the way I looked at the whole devotion. I believed in what he said and started to look for one. But there were so many that I could hardly know where to begin.

I decided to watch a black and white movie, made in 1930, with words that appear to give the viewer key points. I was deeply moved. The viewer would see some of the miracles and be astounded.

One man did not want to help the saint to move some stones and told a lie about carrying his dead son . True enough, the man’s son died. What happened is that St Anthony said a prayer in his most endearing way and the boy opened his eyes to live again.

There are many more miracles, each one as great as the rest ….. and I would recommend that you watch the movie yourself. What I really liked about the saint is his devotion to our Lord. He was prepared to do anything for God, one might say, and rightly so. I love his deep reverence for the Lord too, and to think that it has taken me so long to discover this amazing saint. Of course, at the end of the day, I can only say that each of the saints love the Lord in a unique way, and rightly so, for we are all unique. Praise the Lord!

